Site Content

Matter and Desire: An Erotic Ecology

Andreas Weber asks a radical and challenging question: Could it be that our planet is not suffering primarily from a financial crisis, or even an ecological one, but from a critical lack of love? In speaking of love and of eroticism, Weber is not referring to sentimental feelings, but to a new basis for ontology itself, based on a mix of cutting-edge biological findings and philosophical insights.

A German biologist and eco-philosopher, Weber delves deep into the continuity and connections between our bodies and those of all living beings. In this talk he will discuss his new book Matter and Desire: An Erotic Ecology. Written in the tradition of John Muir and Rachel Carson, the book weaves personal narrative and lyrical descriptions with a discussion of ecology and psychology, offering a new—and necessary—way to move through nature to ultimately achieve a heightened sense of self-awareness. The book is part of Weber’s larger project of developing an eco-philosophy—or as Weber calls it, a "biopoetics"—for the Anthropocene.

There will be a book signing following the lecture.

This is a free event but registration is required.

Register now »

A live stream will be available.

More About Andreas Weber
Weber is a Berlin-based philosopher, biologist, and writer. He holds degrees in marine biology and cultural studies, and has collaborated with brain researcher and philosopher Francisco Varela. His books in English include: Enlivenment: Towards a Fundamental Shift in the Concepts of Nature, Culture and Politics (2013); The Biology of Wonder: Aliveness, Feeling, and the Metamorphosis of Science (2016); and Biopoetics: Towards an Existential Ecology (2016). Weber regularly contributes to major newspapers and magazines, such as National Geographic, GEO, and Die Zeit, and has won a number of awards for his writing. He teaches philosophy at Leuphana University, Lüneburg and at the University of Fine Arts, Berlin. Weber has two children, fifteen and seventeen. He lives in Berlin and Italy.

This lecture is co-sponsored by the Food, Health, and Ecological Well-Being Program at the School of Divinity and Wake Forest University's Center for Energy, Environment, and Sustainability, the Wake Forest Humanities Institute, and The Center for Education, Imagination, and the Natural World. It has been made possible by a major grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Wednesday, October 25 at 7:00pm to 8:30pm

Porter Byrum Welcome Center, Kulynych Auditorium
1834 Wake Forest Road Winston-Salem, NC 27106

Event Type

Religious, Speakers, Lectures, Special Events, Multicultural / International, Community

Departments

School of Divinity, Academic Centers / Institutes, Humanities Institute, Center for Energy, Environment and Sustainability

Target Audience

Alumni, Faculty, General Public, Parents/Guests, Staff, Students, Prospective Students

Website

http://divinity.wfu.edu/fieldwork

Cost

Free

Hashtag

#wakediv

Contact name

Hilary Floyd, Program Associate for Community and Lifelong Learning

Contact email

floydhj@wfu.edu

Contact phone number

336.758.3748

Subscribe
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

Justin Catanoso

Justin Catanoso left a positive review 10/25/2017

Congratulations to Fred Bahnson for bringing Adreas Weber to WFU. Weber's was one of the most unique, personal, intimate and moving presentations I've been fortunate enough to attend on campus. It resonated me with both personally and professionally. I'm very glad I was there, and enjoyed talking with him afterward. A+

Event Registration Required

This event requires registration.